Notary Public Rates
A notary public is an officer chosen at the state level to serve as an impartial witness to the signing of documents. Dependent on the state in question, he also offers a number of other services such as administering of oaths, fingerprinting and wedding services. Notaries take a fee set by their state for these services. Notary public rates may vary from state to state. https://notariatstoica.ro/
In Maryland, a notary can demand and receive a fee of not more than $2 for the performance of an original notarial deed. He may demand not more than $1 for each signature on each extra copy of the original document. A notary can receive up to 25¢ per mile and a fee not exceeding $5, as compensation for travel in the performance of a notarial act. Unless otherwise allowed by law, notary public rates may not go beyond this amount.
In Texas, Government Code Ann. § 406.024 clearly defines the maximum fees for notary public services. For taking the acknowledgment or proof of any deed, notaries charge $6 for the first signature and $1 for each additional signature. Administering an oath or affirmation with certificate and seal costs $6. A Texas notary may demand $6 for swearing a witness to a deposition, certificate, seal and other business connected with the deposition.
Laws of Pennsylvania allow a notary to charge a notarial fee of not more than $5 for each act. A notary may demand $2 for each additional signature on acknowledgments. On depositions and protests, a notary may receive $3 per page. In Pennsylvania a notary is allowed to charge clerical and travel fees, provided the charges are reasonable, understood and agreed to by the customer beforehand.
A notary public in Florida has the choice to charge or not to charge for his services, or any fees up to the maximum. On acknowledgments, depositions and jurats, a notary may receive a fee of not more than $10. Notaries charge $20 and $30 for verifying a vehicle identification number and a marriage respectively. New York notary public rates include a fee of $2 for conducting an oath or affirmation or for taking an acknowledgment or proof of execution.
A notary public who charges more than the maximum declared by each state subjects himself to possible criminal action. Suspension or revocation of the notary public commission by the Secretary of State's office is also possible.